Allerton Cricket Club was founded in 1884 but went into hibernation in the 1930’s. In 1977 a group of 16 Allertonians gathered in the Old School Room and donated a total of £80 to re-start the club. David Duckett offered the use of this field and an old caravan was found to use as a pavilion.
In 1984, to celebrate the centenary of the club, a match was arranged between Chapel Allerton and Stone Allerton. To commemorate the match, some stumps dating back to the first Allerton team were burnt during the tea interval and placed in an urn. The “Allerton Ashes” were born. This hotly contested match has been held annually ever since and is a highlight in the club calendar.
Not long after, the club acquired a second-hand schoolroom which was dismantled and re-erected with massive community support, opening on 7 June 1987. This building has served as our pavilion ever since.
We operate both a mens and a ladies team (since 2022), who both play at our stunningly picturesque ground. All are welcome to join and get involved!